Shubman Gill hammers highest IPL playoffs score

129 – Shubman Gill’s score against Mumbai Indians, the highest by a batter in the IPL playoffs, bettering Virender Sehwag’s 122 for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) against Chennai Super Kings in 2014.

It was also the third-highest score in a T20 playoffs game, behind Chris Gayle’s 146* for Rangpur Riders in 2017 and Tamim Iqbal’s 141* for Comilla Victorians in 2019, both against Dhaka Dynamites in the finals of the Bangladesh Premier League.

233 for 3 – Gujarat Titans’ total against Mumbai Indians in Ahmedabad, the highest by any team in a playoffs match in the IPL. The previous highest was 226 for 6 by Kings XI Punjab against Chennai Super Kings in the qualifier in 2014. It was also the highest total for Titans in the I

94 – Runs scored by Gill in the middle overs (7 to 16) off the 36 balls he faced. Only two batters have scored more runs during middle overs in an IPL innings – 108 by Gayle during his 175* against Pune Warriors India in 2013 and 107 by Sehwag against Deccan Chargers in 2011.

3 – Centuries for Gill in this IPL. Only Virat Kohli (2016) and Jos Buttler (2022) had more in a single IPL season than Gill, scoring four each.

All his hundreds this season have come in his last four innings, joining Michael Klinger (T20 Blast, 2015) as the only players to score three centuries in four innings in men’s T20s.

851 – Runs by Gill in this IPL so far, the third-highest season aggregate for a batter in the IPL. Kohli scored 973 runs in 2016, while Buttler scored 863 runs last year.

23 – Luck Index’s calculation of the runs Tim David’s drop – of Gill when he was on 30 off 19 balls, including the single off that ball – cost Mumbai Indians. Luck Index says that the other batters would have scored 76 off 40 had the catch been taken.

12 – IPL centuries against Mumbai Indians, including Gill’s 129, the most conceded by any team. Six of those 12 centuries have come since the start of the 2022 season.

6 – Number of 200-plus totals conceded by Mumbai Indians this year, the most by any team in a single edition of the IPL. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Punjab Kings conceded five each this year, the second-most by any team. In all T20s, only Southern Punjab (eight in the National T20 Cup in 2020) have conceded six or more 200-plus totals in a single tournament before this.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *