CSK vs DC, IPL 2023 Highlights: Chennai brush Delhi away with 27-run win

Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Capitals Highlights: Hosts Chennai Super Kings notched up a 27-run win over Delhi Capitals, denting the visitors’ chances of reaching the IPL playoffs, here on Wednesday.

Opting to bat, MS Dhoni blazed away to 20 off nine balls to help hosts Chennai Super Kings post a decent 167/8. In reply, DC batters found the going tough and could manage only 140/8 in their 20 overs. Rilee Rossouw top-scored for Delhi with a 37 ball-35.

Earlier, CSK never really got going as the Delhi bowlers kept striking at regular intervals. However, Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja (21) smashed some much-needed boundaries and maximums to take them over the 160-run mark Spinners Axar Patel (2/27), Kuldeep Yadav (1/28) and Lalit Yadav (1/34) shared four wickets amongst themselves, while Mitchell Marsh took three scalps.

Chennai Super Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Aman Hakim Khan b AR Patel24183940133.33
Devon Conway lbw b AR Patel1013281076.92
Ajinkya Rahane c & b Lalit Yadav21203120105.00
Moeen Ali c Marsh b Kuldeep Yadav712130058.33
Shivam Dube c Warner b Marsh25122403208.33
Ambati Rayudu c RV Patel b Ahmed23172811135.29
Ravindra Jadeja c AR Patel b Marsh21163011131.25
MS Dhoni (c)†c Warner b Marsh2092212222.22
Deepak Chahar not out1260050.00
Tushar Deshpande not out012000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 4, w 10)15
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.35)167/8
Did not bat: Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-32 (Devon Conway, 4.1 ov), 2-49 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 6.1 ov), 3-64 (Moeen Ali, 9.4 ov), 4-77 (Ajinkya Rahane, 11.1 ov), 5-113 (Shivam Dube, 14.2 ov), 6-126 (Ambati Rayudu, 16.2 ov), 7-164 (Ravindra Jadeja, 19.2 ov), 8-166 (MS Dhoni, 19.5 ov) • DRS
Khaleel Ahmed403218.0091220
Ishant Sharma2023011.5044020
Lalit Yadav3034111.3362300
Axar Patel402726.7582100
Kuldeep Yadav402817.0060130
Mitchell Marsh301836.0071030

Delhi Capitals  (T: 168 runs from 20 ovs)

David Warner (c)c Rahane b Chahar022000.00
Phil Salt †c Rayudu b Chahar17111912154.54
Mitchell Marsh run out (Rahane)542110125.00
Manish Pandey lbw b Pathirana2729421293.10
Rilee Rossouw c Pathirana b Jadeja3537442194.59
Ripal Patel run out (Ali)1016310062.50
Axar Patel c Rahane b Pathirana21122021175.00
Aman Hakim Khan not out23130066.66
Lalit Yadav b Pathirana125730240.00
Kuldeep Yadav not out011000.00
Extras(lb 6, w 5)11
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.00)140/8
Did not bat: Ishant Sharma 
Fall of wickets: 1-0 (David Warner, 0.2 ov), 2-20 (Phil Salt, 2.3 ov), 3-25 (Mitchell Marsh, 3.1 ov), 4-84 (Manish Pandey, 12.6 ov), 5-89 (Rilee Rossouw, 14.3 ov), 6-116 (Axar Patel, 17.5 ov), 7-125 (Ripal Patel, 18.5 ov), 8-140 (Lalit Yadav, 19.5 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar302829.33103210
Tushar Deshpande301806.0091100
Maheesh Theekshana201608.0020100
Ravindra Jadeja401914.75101000
Moeen Ali401604.00130100
Matheesha Pathirana403739.25115140


  • Chennai Super Kings innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 49 runs, 1 wicket)
  • Over 3.2: Review by Delhi Capitals (Bowling), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – CB Gaffaney, Batter – DP Conway (Struck down)
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 49/1 in 6.0 overs (RD Gaikwad 24, AM Rahane 10)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 50 runs in 6.3 overs (39 balls), Extras 5
  • Chennai Super Kings: 100 runs in 13.2 overs (80 balls), Extras 6
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 117/5 in 15.0 overs (AT Rayudu 20, RA Jadeja 2)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 150 runs in 18.4 overs (112 balls), Extras 13
  • Over 19.3: Review by Chennai Super Kings (Batting), Decision Challenged – Wide, Umpire – CB Gaffaney, Batter – DL Chahar (Struck down)
  • Innings Break: Chennai Super Kings – 167/8 in 20.0 overs (DL Chahar 1, TU Deshpande 0)
  • Delhi Capitals innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 47 runs, 3 wickets)
  • Over 0.4: Review by Chennai Super Kings (Bowling), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – NA Patwardhan, Batter – PD Salt (Struck down)
  • Delhi Capitals: 50 runs in 7.5 overs (47 balls), Extras 2
  • Strategic Timeout: Delhi Capitals – 63/3 in 9.0 overs (MK Pandey 15, RR Rossouw 24)
  • 4th Wicket: 50 runs in 51 balls (MK Pandey 18, RR Rossouw 32, Ex 0)
  • Strategic Timeout: Delhi Capitals – 84/4 in 13.0 overs (RR Rossouw 33)
  • Delhi Capitals: 100 runs in 16.3 overs (99 balls), Extras 3


MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
TossChennai Super Kings, elected to bat first
SeriesIndian Premier League
Player Of The MatchRavindra Jadeja
Match days10 May 2023 – night (20-over match)
DC Player ReplacementImpact player: Manish Pandey for Khaleel Ahmed (2nd innings, 2.4 ov)
CSK Player ReplacementImpact player: Matheesha Pathirana for Shivam Dube (1st innings, 19.6 ov)
UmpiresChris GaffaneyDRSNikhil PatwardhanDRS
TV UmpireAnil Chaudhary
Reserve UmpireMohit Krishnadas
Match RefereeSanjay Verma
PointsChennai Super Kings 2, Delhi Capitals 0
Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *