RR vs CSK IPL 2023 Highlights: Royals go back to top of the tabe with 32-run win over Chennai

RR vs CSK IPL 2023 Highlights: Yashasvi Jaiswal’s 77 off 43 balls, alongwith an excellent finishing effort from Dhruv Jurel and Devdutt Padikkal helped the Rajasthan Royals post 202/5, which is the first time that any team has scored over 200 runs in an IPL match at the Sawai Man Singh Stadium. In reply, Chennai Super Kings struggled to be competitive in their chase. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 47 off 29 balls before becoming the the second of three wickets that Adam Zampa took. Meanwhile, danger man Ajinkya Rahane fell for 15 off 13 balls and CSK were left hoping for a miraculous partnership to come from Ravindra Jadeja and Shivam Dube. Dube kept them interested until about halfway through the 19th over where it pretty much became mathematically impossible for CSK to chase it down. Dube was dismissed off the last ball of the match on 52 off 33 and CSK’s innings ended on 170/6 and the Royals won the match by 32 runs. Earlier, Jaiswal stormed his way to a 26-ball half century as he led the way in Rajasthan Royals dominating the powerplay. They scored 64 runs in the first six overs with Jos Buttler choosing to play second fiddle to Jaiswal. Buttler soon fell as did RR captain Sanju Samson after him. RR temporarily struggled to keep their run rate up after Jaiswal’s innings came to an end. That was only temporary though as Devdutt Padikkal and Dhruv Jurel gave RR a good finish and took them to a score of 202/5. The pair put up 48 runs off 20 balls for the fifth wicket as RR scored a total of 63 runs in the last five overs. The Royals have jumped back to the top of the table with the win. 

Rajasthan Royals  (20 ovs maximum)

Yashasvi Jaiswal c Rahane b Deshpande77436784179.06
Jos Buttler c Dube b Jadeja27214040128.57
Sanju Samson (c)†c Gaikwad b Deshpande17172110100.00
Shimron Hetmyer b Theekshana810160080.00
Dhruv Jurel run out (†Dhoni)34153232226.66
Devdutt Padikkal not out27132250207.69
Ravichandran Ashwin not out11300100.00
Extras(b 4, lb 3, w 4)11
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.10)202/5
Did not bat: Jason Holder, Sandeep Sharma, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa 
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Jos Buttler, 8.2 ov), 2-125 (Sanju Samson, 13.1 ov), 3-132 (Yashasvi Jaiswal, 13.5 ov), 4-146 (Shimron Hetmyer, 16.1 ov), 5-194 (Dhruv Jurel, 19.3 ov) • DRS
Akash Singh2032016.0036100
Tushar Deshpande4042210.50105200
Maheesh Theekshana402416.00113010
Ravindra Jadeja403218.0062110
Moeen Ali201708.5020100
Matheesha Pathirana4048012.0055120

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 203 runs from 20 ovs)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Padikkal b Zampa47294551162.06
Devon Conway c Sandeep Sharma b Zampa816281050.00
Ajinkya Rahane c Buttler b Ashwin15132300115.38
Shivam Dube c Buttler b Yadav52335224157.57
Ambati Rayudu c Holder b Ashwin024000.00
Moeen Ali c †Samson b Zampa23122122191.66
Ravindra Jadeja not out23152730153.33
Extras(lb 1, w 1)2
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.50)170/6
Did not bat: MS Dhoni (c)†, Matheesha Pathirana, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Devon Conway, 5.6 ov), 2-69 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 9.2 ov), 3-73 (Ajinkya Rahane, 10.2 ov), 4-73 (Ambati Rayudu, 10.4 ov), 5-124 (Moeen Ali, 14.5 ov), 6-170 (Shivam Dube, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Sandeep Sharma402406.00103000
Kuldip Yadav301816.0041000
Jason Holder4049012.2544310
Ravichandran Ashwin403528.7571200
Adam Zampa302237.3372100
Yuzvendra Chahal2021010.5032100


  • Rajasthan Royals innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 64 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Over 3.3: Review by Chennai Super Kings (Bowling), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – YC Barde, Batter – YBK Jaiswal (Struck down)
  • Rajasthan Royals: 50 runs in 4.2 overs (26 balls), Extras 1
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 26 balls (YBK Jaiswal 37, JC Buttler 14, Ex 1)
  • YBK Jaiswal: 50 off 26 balls (6 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • Strategic Timeout: Rajasthan Royals – 86/1 in 8.2 overs (YBK Jaiswal 53)
  • Rajasthan Royals: 100 runs in 9.5 overs (59 balls), Extras 7
  • Strategic Timeout: Rajasthan Royals – 132/3 in 14.0 overs (SO Hetmyer 3, DC Jurel 0)
  • Rajasthan Royals: 150 runs in 16.3 overs (99 balls), Extras 9
  • Over 18.2: Review by Rajasthan Royals (Batting), Decision Challenged – Wide, Umpire – A Totre, Batter – D Padikkal (Struck down)
  • Rajasthan Royals: 200 runs in 19.6 overs (120 balls), Extras 11
  • Innings Break: Rajasthan Royals – 202/5 in 20.0 overs (D Padikkal 27, R Ashwin 1)
  • Chennai Super Kings innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 42 runs, 1 wicket)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 50 runs in 6.6 overs (42 balls), Extras 0
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 68/1 in 9.0 overs (RD Gaikwad 47, AM Rahane 13)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 100 runs in 13.1 overs (79 balls), Extras 2
  • 5th Wicket: 50 runs in 24 balls (S Dube 27, MM Ali 23, Ex 1)
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 129/5 in 16.0 overs (S Dube 31, RA Jadeja 3)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 150 runs in 17.3 overs (105 balls), Extras 2
  • Over 18.3: Review by Rajasthan Royals (Bowling), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – YC Barde, Batter – RA Jadeja (Struck down)
  • S Dube: 50 off 29 balls (2 x 4, 4 x 6)
Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *