CSK vs GT, IPL Qualifier 1 Highlights: Chennai through to their 10th final, beat Titans by 15 runs

IPL 2023 CSK vs GT Live Score: Chennai Super Kings are through to their 10th IPL final. They beat defending champions Gujarat Titans by 15 runs with the latter being all out for 157 chasing a target of 173. CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad got a big let off early on when he was caught at midwicket in the second over and the delivery was declared a no ball. He capitalised on that lifeline, scoring 60 off 44 deliveries. CSK’s opening pair stayed unbeaten in the first 10 overs but GT then clawed their way back. It was some lusty blows from Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen Ali that pushed CSK to 172/7. In response though, GT hardly got any momentum at any stage of their chase. All their big guns fell without making much of a dent while the biggest of them all, Shubman Gill, was kept silent by the GT bowlers. He ended up falling for 42 off 38 balls. It looked like GT’s race was run when ace finisher Rahul Tewatia fell but Rashid Khan came in and smashed 30 off 16 balls to give his side a glimmer of hope. It was too much for him to do in the end though, and CSK booked a spot in the final. 

Chennai Super Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Miller b Sharma60444871136.36
Devon Conway c Rashid Khan b Mohammed Shami40347440117.64
Shivam Dube b Noor Ahmad1340033.33
Ajinkya Rahane c Shubman Gill b Nalkande17101501170.00
Ambati Rayudu c Shanaka b Rashid Khan1791511188.88
Ravindra Jadeja b Mohammed Shami22162520137.50
MS Dhoni (c)†c Pandya b Sharma1240050.00
Moeen Ali not out94701225.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, nb 2)5
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 8.60)172/7
Did not bat: Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-87 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 10.3 ov), 2-90 (Shivam Dube, 11.3 ov), 3-121 (Ajinkya Rahane, 14.5 ov), 4-125 (Devon Conway, 15.1 ov), 5-148 (Ambati Rayudu, 17.6 ov), 6-155 (MS Dhoni, 18.5 ov), 7-172 (Ravindra Jadeja, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami402827.00102101
Darshan Nalkande4044111.0094201
Rashid Khan403719.2552100
Noor Ahmad402917.2563000
Mohit Sharma403127.7543000

Gujarat Titans  (T: 173 runs from 20 ovs)

Wriddhiman Saha †c Pathirana b Chahar12111420109.09
Shubman Gill c Conway b Chahar42385841110.52
Hardik Pandya (c)c Jadeja b Theekshana871210114.28
Dasun Shanaka c Theekshana b Jadeja17161211106.25
David Miller b Jadeja46110066.66
Vijay Shankar c Gaikwad b Pathirana14103001140.00
Rahul Tewatia b Theekshana3580060.00
Rashid Khan c Conway b Deshpande30162632187.50
Darshan Nalkande run out (sub [SP Senapati])011000.00
Noor Ahmad not out751410140.00
Mohammed Shami c Chahar b Pathirana55810100.00
Extras(lb 2, w 13)15
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 7.85)157
Fall of wickets: 1-22 (Wriddhiman Saha, 2.6 ov), 2-41 (Hardik Pandya, 5.5 ov), 3-72 (Dasun Shanaka, 10.3 ov), 4-88 (David Miller, 12.5 ov), 5-88 (Shubman Gill, 13.1 ov), 6-98 (Rahul Tewatia, 14.3 ov), 7-136 (Vijay Shankar, 17.3 ov), 8-136 (Darshan Nalkande, 17.4 ov), 9-142 (Rashid Khan, 18.3 ov), 10-157 (Mohammed Shami, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar402927.25102130
Tushar Deshpande4043110.75116220
Maheesh Theekshana402827.0081100
Ravindra Jadeja401824.50122000
Matheesha Pathirana403729.2592170


  • Chennai Super Kings innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 49 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 49/0 in 6.0 overs (RD Gaikwad 33, DP Conway 14)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 50 runs in 6.1 overs (38 balls), Extras 2
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 38 balls (RD Gaikwad 35, DP Conway 14, Ex 2)
  • RD Gaikwad: 50 off 36 balls (6 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 99/2 in 13.0 overs (DP Conway 31, AM Rahane 4)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 100 runs in 13.1 overs (80 balls), Extras 3
  • Chennai Super Kings: 150 runs in 18.2 overs (111 balls), Extras 3
  • GT were imposed penalty for slow over-rate in the 20th over
  • Innings Break: Chennai Super Kings – 172/7 in 20.0 overs (MM Ali 9)
  • Gujarat Titans innings
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 41 runs, 2 wickets)
  • Gujarat Titans: 50 runs in 7.3 overs (45 balls), Extras 1
  • Strategic Timeout: Gujarat Titans – 59/2 in 9.0 overs (Shubman Gill 32, MD Shanaka 6)
  • Gujarat Titans: 100 runs in 14.4 overs (88 balls), Extras 8
  • Strategic Timeout: Gujarat Titans – 115/6 in 16.0 overs (V Shankar 6, Rashid Khan 15)
  • Over 17.5: Review by Chennai Super Kings (Bowling), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – AK Chaudhary, Batter – Rashid Khan (Struck down)
  • CSK were imposed penalty for slow over-rate in the 20th over
  • Gujarat Titans: 150 runs in 19.2 overs (116 balls), Extras 14


MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai
TossGujarat Titans, elected to field first
SeriesIndian Premier League
Player Of The MatchRuturaj Gaikwad
Series resultChennai Super Kings advanced
Match days23 May 2023 – night (20-over match)
CSK Player ReplacementImpact player: Matheesha Pathirana in, Shivam Dube out (2nd innings, 0.1 ov)
GT Player ReplacementImpact player: Vijay Shankar in, Mohit Sharma out (1st innings, 19.6 ov)
UmpiresAnil ChaudharyDRSChris GaffaneyDRS
TV UmpireBruce Oxenford
Reserve UmpireVirender Sharma
Match RefereeManu Nayyar
Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *