CSK vs GT, IPL 2023 Final, Highlights: Chennai Super Kings Beat Gujarat Titans to Win 5th Title

CSK vs GT, IPL 2023 Final Highlights: Ravindra Jadeja hit a four off the last ball as Chennai Super Kings equalled Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles. Sai Sudharsan had propelled Gujarat Titans to a score of 214/4 by smashing 96 off just 47 balls. The 23-year-old Chennai lad smashed eight fours and six sixes in his innings as he made the most of the death overs. Earlier, Wriddhiman Saha scored 54 off 39 on a day when his prolific opening partner Shubman Gill was limited to a score of 39 off 20. Only slight drizzles appeared throughout the GT innings which didn’t cause stoppages of any kind.  However, the stoppage came eventually after the third ball of the first over of the CSK innings with heavy rain pouring down at the stadium. While the rain itself didn’t last long, it was the wet outfield, particularly a problematic practice pitch at the edge of the square that caused the biggest delay. Finally, the match got reduced to 15 overs and CSK’s target was revised to 171. The match eventually resumed and it has been a see-saw affair ever since. Big hits from Devon Conway, Ajinkya Rahane, Shivam Dube and Ambati Rayudu helped CSK’s cause but Mohit Sharma came in with the important wickets whenever it looked like the opposition was running away with it. Mohit bowled the last over as well and brought it down to CSK needing 10 to win off the last two balls. But Ravindra Jadeja ended up smashing the second last ball for a six and the last ball for a four to lead CSK to a five-wicket win and their fifth title.

Gujarat Titans  (20 ovs maximum)

Wriddhiman Saha †c †Dhoni b Chahar54396351138.46
Shubman Gill st †Dhoni b Jadeja39203470195.00
Sai Sudharsan lbw b Pathirana96475886204.25
Hardik Pandya (c)not out21123202175.00
Rashid Khan c Gaikwad b Pathirana022000.00
Extras(b 1, lb 1, w 2)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 10.70)214/4
Did not bat: Vijay Shankar, David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Mohit Sharma, Noor Ahmad, Mohammed Shami, Josh Little 
Fall of wickets: 1-67 (Shubman Gill, 6.6 ov), 2-131 (Wriddhiman Saha, 13.6 ov), 3-212 (Sai Sudharsan, 19.3 ov), 4-214 (Rashid Khan, 19.6 ov) • DRS
Deepak Chahar403819.5053100
Tushar Deshpande4056014.0047300
Maheesh Theekshana403609.0083200
Ravindra Jadeja403819.5033100
Matheesha Pathirana4044211.0074220

Chennai Super Kings  (T: 171 runs from 15 ovs)

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Rashid Khan b Noor Ahmad26163031162.50
Devon Conway c Sharma b Noor Ahmad47253442188.00
Shivam Dube not out32214902152.38
Ajinkya Rahane c Shankar b Sharma27132022207.69
Ambati Rayudu c & b Sharma198812237.50
MS Dhoni (c)†c Miller b Sharma011000.00
Ravindra Jadeja not out1561411250.00
Extras(lb 1, w 4)5
TOTAL15 Ov (RR: 11.40)171/5
Did not bat: Moeen Ali, Deepak Chahar, Tushar Deshpande, Maheesh Theekshana 
Fall of wickets: 1-74 (Ruturaj Gaikwad, 6.3 ov), 2-78 (Devon Conway, 6.6 ov), 3-117 (Ajinkya Rahane, 10.5 ov), 4-149 (Ambati Rayudu, 12.4 ov), 5-149 (MS Dhoni, 12.5 ov) • DRS
Mohammed Shami302909.6654000
Hardik Pandya1014014.0011110
Rashid Khan3044014.6624300
Noor Ahmad301725.6660030
Josh Little2030015.0010300
Mohit Sharma3036312.0042300


Gujarat Titans innings

  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 6.0 (Mandatory – 62 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Gujarat Titans: 50 runs in 5.2 overs (32 balls), Extras 0
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 32 balls (WP Saha 26, Shubman Gill 24, Ex 0)
  • Strategic Timeout: Gujarat Titans – 80/1 in 9.0 overs (WP Saha 37, B Sai Sudharsan 4)
  • Gujarat Titans: 100 runs in 11.1 overs (67 balls), Extras 0
  • WP Saha: 50 off 36 balls (5 x 4, 1 x 6)
  • 2nd Wicket: 50 runs in 34 balls (WP Saha 25, B Sai Sudharsan 23, Ex 2)
  • Strategic Timeout: Gujarat Titans – 131/2 in 14.0 overs (B Sai Sudharsan 36)
  • B Sai Sudharsan: 50 off 33 balls (3 x 4, 3 x 6)
  • Gujarat Titans: 150 runs in 15.4 overs (94 balls), Extras 2
  • 3rd Wicket: 50 runs in 23 balls (B Sai Sudharsan 43, HH Pandya 7, Ex 0)
  • Gujarat Titans: 200 runs in 18.6 overs (114 balls), Extras 2
  • Over 19.3: Review by Gujarat Titans (Batting), Decision Challenged – Wicket, Umpire – RJ Tucker, Batter – B Sai Sudharsan (Struck down)
  • Innings Break: Gujarat Titans – 214/4 in 20.0 overs (HH Pandya 21)

Chennai Super Kings innings

  • Rain: Chennai Super Kings – 0/0
  • Powerplay 1: Overs 0.1 – 4.0 (Mandatory – 52 runs, 0 wicket)
  • Rain: Chennai Super Kings – 4/0 in 0.3 overs (RD Gaikwad 4, DP Conway 0)
  • Wet Ground: Chennai Super Kings – 4/0 in 0.3 overs (RD Gaikwad 4, DP Conway 0)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 50 runs in 3.6 overs (24 balls), Extras 2
  • 1st Wicket: 50 runs in 24 balls (RD Gaikwad 23, DP Conway 27, Ex 2)
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 72/0 in 6.0 overs (RD Gaikwad 25, DP Conway 44)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 100 runs in 9.1 overs (55 balls), Extras 5
  • Strategic Timeout: Chennai Super Kings – 133/3 in 12.0 overs (S Dube 25, AT Rayudu 3)
  • Chennai Super Kings: 150 runs in 12.6 overs (78 balls), Extras 5


Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad
TossChennai Super Kings, elected to field first
SeriesIndian Premier League
Players per sideGujarat Titans 12 (11 batting, 11 fielding); Chennai Super Kings 12 (11 batting, 11 fielding)
Player Of The MatchDevon Conway
Player Of The SeriesShubman Gill
Series resultChennai Super Kings won the 2023 Indian Premier League
Match days28,29 May 2023 – night (20-over match)
GT Player ReplacementImpact player: Josh Little in, Sai Sudharsan out (1st innings, 19.6 ov)
CSK Player ReplacementImpact player: Shivam Dube in, Matheesha Pathirana out (2nd innings, 6.3 ov)
UmpiresNitin MenonDRSRod TuckerDRS
TV UmpireKN Ananthapadmanabhan
Reserve UmpireJayaraman Madanagopal
Match RefereeJavagal Srinath
Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *